ESL eSports Awards 2009

BY Andrew Miesner / June 10, 2009

ESL eSports awards are back in 2009, but the eSports Coverage Award will be decided by the eSports award Academy.

“Taking into account last year’s criticism of this category, for the first time the winner of the Best eSports Coverage Award will be determined by the eSports Award Academy. But the community still has a major influence on the outcome as they will be deciding who the five nominees are going to be.”

Once again the eSports Player of the Year award will be subdivided into six regional regions: America, China, Korea, Western Europe, Eastern Europe and Northern Europe. The winner of each region will be chosen by public vote. The winner of the “eSports Player of the Year” award will be determined by the eSports Award Academny, some of the biggest names in eSports.

The Public polls will be held from June 25th to July 5 on the biggest eSport pages of the six regions.

The awards Ceremony will be taking place in Germany at the end of August.

The 13 categories are:

  • eSports Player of the Year
  • eSports Team of the Year
  • Best Counter-Strike Player
  • Best Warcraft 3 Player
  • Newcomer / Breakthrough of the Year
  • Best eSports Coverage
  • Scene Journalist Award
  • Journalist Award
  • eSports Game of the Year
  • eSports Photo of the Year
  • Best Call of Duty Player
  • Consoles Player of the Year
  • Consoles Team of the Year

Source: eSports Award