WCG Qualifiers Announced

BY Andrew Miesner / April 13, 2011

Without a doubt the World Cyber Games has been a staple of eSports and the progaming community for quite some time now. Today the WCG announced that the US National Finals will consist exclusively of online qualifiers and will see “4 teams/players into the National Finals, with the exception of StarCraft 2 which will qualify a total of 8 players.”

Each game will include at least one “Last Chance” qualifying round which will consist of the top 32 teams / players from each of the previous online qualifiers who will be automatically autoberthed into the event.  Each qualifier will be a single elimination into double elimination finals format with only the top team or player successfully qualifying for the US 2011 National Finals.  Players must be US citizens and live within the continential United States, and will not be allowed to qualify for multiple games.

In case you haven’t been following WCG news, the games being played this year include:

Counter-Strike 1.6
StarCraft II
League of Legends
Tekken 6
Cross Fire

The online qualifiers will be running from April 25th through July 31st. To register for the WCG or to check out all the details, click here.